leave a comment

The illustrious Zukerman Trio elevates audiences with its "uncommon passion" (The Chicago Tribune) and precise ensemble. Led by the charisma and legendary musicianship of violinist Pinchas Zukerman, the Trio opens the season with Kodály's rhapsodic, rarely-heard duo, and two masterpieces by Arensky and Beethoven.

Please note that this concert will take place at Goucher College’s Kraushaar Auditorium. Learn more here.

"Their combination of outsized string sound, exciting ensemble precision, and compelling interpretation puts them at the head of the Piano Trio division in the Chamber Music Major League." —San Diego Union-Tribune

    Zukerman Trio

    Pinchas Zukerman, violin
    Amanda Forsyth, cello
    Angela Cheng, piano

    A prodigious talent recognized worldwide for his artistry, Pinchas Zukerman has been an inspiration to young musicians throughout his adult life. In a continuing effort to motivate future generations of musicians through education and outreach, the renowned artist teamed up in 2002 with four protégés to form a string quintet called the Zukerman ChamberPlayers. Despite limited availability during the season, the ensemble amassed an impressive international touring schedule with close to two hundred concerts and four discs on the CBC, Altara and Sony labels.
    Beginning in 2011 Zukerman, along with cellist Amanda Forsyth and pianist Angela Cheng, began offering trio repertoire as an alternative to the quintet works with the ChamberPlayers.   In addition to piano trios by Mendelssohn, Beethoven, Dvorak and Shostakovich, programs often include duo performances with various couplings including the Kodaly Duo.  Invitations from major Festivals and venues led to the official launch of the Zukerman Trio in 2013.  The ensemble has traveled around the globe to appear in Japan, China, Australia, Spain, Italy, France, Hungary, South Africa, Istanbul, Russia, and throughout the United States. Appearances at major festivals have included the BBC Proms, Edinburgh, Verbier, and Bravo! Vail.  This season, the Zukerman Trio returns to Australia for performances at the Adelaide Town Hall and the Ulkaria Cultural Centre.  Other highlights include appearances at Chamber Music Sedona, Chamber Music Society of Detroit and the Music Institute of Chicago.  

    “Consummate and charismatic musicians, the trio made for a tight-knit chamber ensemble.” —The Scotsman

Anton Arensky (1861-1906)

Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 32

Zoltán Kodály (1882-1967)

Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Piano Trio in B-flat major, Op. 97, "Archduke"

Program Subject to Change Without Notice