The mission of Shriver Hall Concert Series (SHCS) is to foster and maintain an organization dedicated to the making of music consonant with the highest aspirations of musical art, creating performances, and providing educational and training programs at the highest level of excellence.


Chair's Welcome


As we turn the page on the first 50 years of the Shriver Hall Concert Series, we pay homage to those who, from the beginning, have played such a key role in its incredible success. We thank the hundreds of subscribers, patrons, donors, and Board members who have helped make this first half-century so marvelous. Three people in particular need mention: Jephta Drachman, Albert Menedeloff, and Ernest Bueding chaired SHCS for its first 47 years! Without their leadership, vision, and Herculean efforts, Shriver would not be the internationally recognized series it is.

At Shriver, familiar and newly commissioned works of chamber music are performed by the world’s finest musicians. Through these performances, Baltimore and the region have the opportunity to enter an oasis that is stimulating and peaceful. As William Congreve wrote in 1697, “Music has charms to soothe a savage breast,” a reference to music’s ability to reach the widest possible audience. At this time of political upheaval and changing administrations in Washington, this reference seems particularly appropriate. Music, while it is often politically inspired, is also personal and speaks of requited and unrequited love, pastoral settings, seasons, and moods. It provides a temporary respite from a dynamic social context and a noisy, everyday life.

We want your experience at Shriver to be vibrant and enjoyable. As the world swirls around us, consider how this music enriches your life by providing an oasis. And consider supporting us with a generous donation so we can continue our mission of providing outstanding music. Our ticket sales account for only 33% of our budget. We cannot provide all this without you.

We look forward to sharing this season of beautiful music with you.


Geoffrey Greif, Board Chair

From The Director


Dear Friends,

Welcome to our 51st Season! Edward Albee, the late playwright, wrote, “The arts are not decorative…they are essential to our comprehension of consciousness and ourselves.” As we embark on our second half-century, this observation underscores Shriver Hall Concert Series’s vitalness to each of us and the greater community of Baltimore.

The 2016-17 season is rich in variety, with repertoire spanning almost 300 years, a range of collaborations, debut artists, and returning friends. In particular, I’d like to highlight three programs crafted to explore specific ideas. Inspired by her abiding fascination with nature, Hélène Grimaud (Dec 4) examines composers’ inventive responses to the power and beauty of water. Pianist Jonathan Biss and the Brentano Quartet (Feb 26) focus on the question of “late style” and the surprising directions in which composers have moved in their final years. And, mezzo-soprano Susan Graham and Malcolm Martineau (Apr 23) present an evening centered on Schumann’s seminal song cycle, Frauenliebe und –leben, weaving in other songs on the same themes of a woman’s love and life. We hope you will enjoy these remarkable events and many other concerts throughout the season.

SHCS has thrived since 1966 because of the time, energy, and enthusiasm of those like you. In bringing friends to concerts, renewing your subscription, making an annual gift, and including SHCS in your will, you are investing in our future. We thank you for this continued support and patronage. Sitting together in a concert hall is an act of community, and it is as a community that we will ensure our next half-century of music!

All of us at SHCS wish you a happy season full of musical exploration!


Catherine Cochran, Executive Director


Shriver Hall
Geoffrey L. Greif
Vice Chair
Edward F. McCarthy
Julie A. Schwait
Tamera Gundersen

Ellen Blaustein
Robin Breitenecker
Regina Anderson Campbell
Janice Chandler-Eteme
Jephta Drachman
Alan S. Edelman
Elaine Freeman
Ian Heavers
Margot Heller
Helmut Jenkner
Li-Wen Kang
Barbara Kornblatt
Sayra W. Meyerhoff
Mellasenah Y. Morris
Marguerite Mugge
Harriet L. Panitz
Asher Rubin
Solomon Snyder
Winston Tabb
Nanny Warren
James Weiss
Sander Wise

Junior Board
Shane Coughlin
Christina Manceor
Duy Phan
Melody Quah
Tomasz Robak

Page executed in 0.0872180461884 seconds.
Queries - total: 14 select: 14